Contact    Internal   Webmail             


 Microsistemas & Nanotecnologias





























Photo taken in September, 2013




Research Area


Paulo Freitas Institute Director, 
Principal Investigator
Magnetics,  Biosensors and  Biomedical Applications pfreitas

Virginia Chu Principal Investigator,    Co-Director Thin Film MEMS,   Biosensors and Biomedical Applications vchu

Self Portrait

José Luís Martins Principal Investigator,    Co-Director Materials Simulations

João Pedro Conde Principal Investigator Thin Film MEMS,   Biosensors and Biomedical Applications

Susana Freitas Principal Investigator Tunnel junctions for MRAM, ion beam deposition scardoso

Diana Leitão Post-Doctoral fellow MR Nanosensors for detection of ultra-low magnetic fields dleitao

Sofia Martins Post-Doctoral fellow (jointly with IBB/BERG) Cell chips for drug screening

Filipe Cardoso Post-doctoral fellow (FP7 project iMAGIC) Magnetoresistive sensors for biochip applications fcardoso

Carlos Reis Post-doctoral fellow

Novel methods for speed-up of first-principles pseudopotential plane


Rui Pinto Post-Doctoral fellow (jointly with CQFM) Photophysics and electronic properties of organic interfaces rpinto

Narayanan Srinivasan Post-Doctoral fellow (Marie Curie ITN -PROSENSE) Microfluidic immunoassays for the detection of Prostate Cancer biomarkers nsrinivasan

Maria Jose Lopez-Martinez Post-Doctoral fellow (FP7 project NANODEM) Microfluidic modules for magnetic trapping

Ricardo Ferreira Collaborator (INL) Ultra-fast switching of magnetic nanostructures rferreira

José Pedro Amaral PhD student Measurements of synaptic currents based on MR sensors jamaral

Ana Silva PhD student Phase locked oscillators based on low resistance MgO tunnel junction nanodevices asilva

Pedro Novo PhD student       (jointly with IBB/BERG) Integrated optical detection for Lab-on-Chips pnovo

João Tiago Fernandes PhD student       (jointly with IMM-CMNU) Microfluidics culture platforms for neuralscience jfernandes

João Mouro PhD student Thin film silicon NEMS jmouro

Tomás Dias PhD student      (jointly with IBB/BERG) MR chip for cancer detection based on cell-free DNA tdias

Hua Lv PhD student Nanodevices for spintronics hlv

Daniel Silva PhD student        (jointly with IBB/BERG) Integrated Microfluidic system for purification of antibodies dsilva

Tiago Monteiro PhD student (jointly with U. Minho) Integrated biosensors

Anastasiia Moskaltsova PhD student (Marie Curie ITN - Spinicur) Magnetoresistive materials optimization  amoskaltsova

Simon Knudde PhD student (Marie Curie ITN - Spinicur) Spin Seebeck Effects in Tunneling sknudde

Ruben Soares PhD student (jointly with IBB/BERG) Microfluidic toxin chips rsoares

Carla Margarida Duarte PhD Student (jointly with FMV-UL) Portable lab-on-chip platform for bovine mastitis diagnosis in raw milk

Miguel Neto Master's student MR sensors for Biochips mneto

José Antunes Master's student Nanosensor characterization setup

Paulo Coelho Master's student

Nanofabrication of sub-100nm sensors

João Valadeiro Master's student

Magnetoresisitive sensors with pico-Tesla sensitivities

Fernando Franco Master's student Magnetic scanners with magnetoresisitive sensors

Rui M.R. Pinto Master's student (jointly with IMM-CBU Nucleic Acid detection in microfluidics applied to miRNA

Catarina Pedrosa Master's student (jointly with IMM-CMNU) Single cell optical detection in microfluidic structuers for Parkinson's disease studies

Miguel Reis Master's student Lab-on-Chip devices for Prostate Cancer biomarker detection  

Guilherme Figueiredo Master's student MEMS characterization and biosensor applications

Marta Ornelas Master's student (jointly with IMM-UNF) Mapping of Adenosine propogation in neurons

Laura Teagno Visiting Master's student (Politecnico di Torino) Electronic detection of MEMS lteagno

Inês Gil Master's student Microfluidic platforms for magnetic biochips

Ana Teresa Cordeiro Master's student Magnetoresistive sensors for implantable electrodes in neurosciences

Tiago Coutinho Master's student

MR sensors with large linear range.





Marilia Silva Master's student High sensitivity MR sensors incorporated in silicon needles for magnetic detection of neuronal response

Ana Isabel Neves Research Intern (Bolsa) Organic transistors aneves

Ana Carolina Fernandes Research Intern (Bolsa) Integrated lab-on-chip platform for T-lymphocytes CD4+ counting in HIV-1 infected patients acfernandes

Jorge Santos Research Intern (Bolsa) Nanodiamond MEMS

Luguang He Visiting Researcher (Sinomags, China) Magnetic sensors

José Bernardo Process Engineer lithography and planarization jbernardo

Virginia Soares Process Engineer plasma etching and SEM vsoares

Fernando Silva Process Engineer CVD and PVD deposition fsilva

Natércia Correia Administrative assistant    ncorreia

Sandra Baptista Administrative  assistant   sbaptista

                         * for email addresses, add:; for email addresses with _at_, substitute with @

Copyright © 2012 INESC MN; all rights reserved · Last update: 4 February 2014·